Rain Cuts Final Daytona Qualifying Practice Early

Early in the 2nd practice session of the day, teams started to report that they could feel some mist in the spotter stands. It wasn’t long until the skies opened up just enough to put a stop to practice. As for what occurred during the time the track was green, second verse same as the first. While some teams chose to draft to prepare for the Duels, including some that used their first practice in the same way, most chose to make their single car runs. While Bubba Wallace led the session, Martin Truex Jr. seemed to be the fastest single car run.

All eyes are on Hendrick Motorsports (HMS) heading into Qualifying on Sunday. HMS is looking for an astounding 5th straight Daytona 500 Pole. The streak started back in 2015 when Jeff Gordon won the Pole for his final career Daytona 500. Then when Chase Elliott took over for the now Hall of Famer, he won back-to-back Daytona 500 Poles. Finally, last year, Alex Bowman won the Pole in his full-time debut in the #88 following the retirement of Dale Earnhardt Jr.. As if the streak wasn’t impressive enough, since 2008, Hendrick cars have won 7 out of 11 Daytona 500 Pole Awards. All 4 of the HMS teams were in the Top-11 of the speed charts, primarily in single car runs as well. It’s obvious they’re still the favorites.

The Daytona 500 Pole winning streak is even longer for Chevrolet as the manufacturer is going for its 7th straight, dating back to Danica Patrick becoming the first woman to win a Pole in 2013. Since 2000, a non-Chevrolet has only won the Daytona 500 Pole 6 times (3 Yates, 2 Roush, 1 Evernham). So even if the winner of the Pole isn’t a Hendrick Chevrolet, the odds it’ll be a Chevrolet are just as strong.

Qualifying for the Daytona 500 will take place on Sunday, February 10 at 12:15pm ET and will be aired on FOX.

Second Daytona 500 Practice results:
(i) – ineligible for Cup points
* – unchartered

143Bubba WallaceChevy46.149195.020
213Ty DillonChevy46.152195.008
338David RaganFord46.168194.940
417Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Ford46.255194.574
521Paul MenardFord46.491193.586
634Michael McDowellFord46.543193.370
719Martin Truex Jr.Toyota46.918191.824
888Alex BowmanChevy46.918191.824
924William ByronChevy46.923191.804
109Chase ElliottChevy46.931191.771
1148Jimmie JohnsonChevy46.983191.559
1214Clint BowyerFord47.163190.828
1318Kyle BuschToyota47.218190.605
1441Daniel SuarezFord47.407189.845
1522Joey LoganoFord47.412189.825
1620Erik JonesToyota47.453189.661
172Brad KeselowskiFord47.467189.605
1847Ryan PreeceChevy47.491189.510
1912Ryan BlaneyFord47.534189.338
204Kevin HarvickFord47.539189.318
2137Chris BuescherChevy47.564189.219
221Kurt BuschChevy47.609189.040
2310Aric AlmirolaFord47.625188.976
248Daniel HemricChevy47.766188.419
2542Kyle LarsonChevy47.770188.403
263Austin DillonChevy47.796188.300
276Ryan NewmanFord47.799188.288
2827*Casey MearsChevy47.814188.229
2931*Tyler Reddick (i)Chevy47.819188.210
3071*Ryan Truex (i)Chevy47.828188.174
3140Jamie McMurrayChevy47.840188.127
3295Matt DiBenedettoToyota47.896187.907
3396*Parker Kligerman (i)Toyota48.164186.862
3462*Brendan Gaughan (i)Chevy48.190186.761
3536Matt TifftFord48.584185.246
3666*Joey Gase (i)Toyota50.527178.123

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.