Wood Brothers Racing Wins Clash Drawing

Less than one month after losing their patriarch, NASCAR Hall of Famer Glen Wood, Wood Brothers Racing will lead the field to the very first green flag of 2019 in the Advance Auto Parts Clash. Saturday night, the crew chiefs of all the Clash participants drew a number for their starting spot in Sunday’s exhibition race and Greg Erwin pulled the #1 for his driver Paul Menard. The non-televised event has always been a fan favorite and in recent years, they’ve had the help from USAC .25 Midget drivers to determine the Clash starting lineup.

Kyle Busch, who famously won the event in 2012 after making multiple fantastic saves that may just be some of the best in history, will start alongside Menard in 2nd. Brad Keselowski, the defending winner of the race, will start 3rd. And Ryan Newman with his brand new team in Roush Fenway Racing, will start 4th.

After a 4 car wreck during the only Clash practice session of the weekend, both Chase Elliott and Denny Hamlin have been forced to go to backup cars. This means that they will lose their starting positions and move to the rear of the field during the pace laps.

121Paul MenardWood Brothers RacingFordMotorcraft/Quick Lane Tire & Auto Center
218Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaM&M’s Chocolate Bar
32Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFordMiller Lite
46Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway RacingFordWyndham Rewards
588Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevyNationwide
64Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFordBusch Beer Car2Can
722Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFordShell Pennzoil
812Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFordMenards/Peak
93Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevyBass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats
1041Daniel SuarezStewart-Haas RacingFordHaas Automation
1140Jamie McMurraySpire MotorsportsChevyAdventHealth
1219Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs RacingToyotaBass Pro Shops/Tracker ATVs
1348Jimmie JohnsonHendrick MotorsportsChevyAlly
1442Kyle LarsonChip Ganassi RacingChevyCredit One Bank
1514Clint BowyerStewart-Haas RacingFordMobil 1
169Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevyMountain Dew
1711Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaFedEx Express
1810Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas RacingFordSmithfield Prime Fresh
191Kurt BuschChip Ganassi RacingChevyMonster Energy
2020Erik JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaSport Clips

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.