Hendrick Motorsports Sweeps Daytona 500 Front Row

Hendrick Motorsports made history on Sunday, not only winning their record-setting 5th straight Daytona 500 Pole Award, but by sweeping the Top-4 qualifying spots. Think about that for a moment. The slowest Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet was still faster than any other team in the Cup garage. The feat by Hendrick Motorsports also marks the 700th pole for Chevrolet, including the 7th straight in the Daytona 500. Perhaps even more impressive is that the streak of 5 Daytona 500 Poles was done with 4 drivers and 3 teams.

2015: #24 Jeff Gordon / Crew Chief: Alan Gustafson
2016: #24 Chase Elliott / Alan Gustafson
2017: #24 Chase Elliott / Alan Gustafson
2018: #88 Alex Bowman / Greg Ives
2019: #24 William Byron / Chad Knaus

It was 2018 Rookie of the Year William Byron that got the job done for Mr. H with his new crew chief Chad Knaus, beating out teammate and last year’s Daytona 500 polesitter, Alex Bowman.  It was Byron’s first career Pole Award. Byron and Bowman are the only two drivers that know where they will be starting in the field for next week’s race, and together they make the youngest front row in Daytona 500 history. Jimmie Johnson and Chase Elliott were 3rd and 4th fastest, respectively, but will have to race in the Duels on Thursday night to determine where they’ll start the 500.

Hendrick Motorsports wasn’t the only organization celebrating today, either. The #31 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet and their alliance team, the #27 Germain Racing Chevrolet, were the 2 fastest unchartered cars. That means that no matter what transpires in Thursday night’s Duels, Tyler Reddick will make his Cup Series debut in the #31 and Casey Mears will make his return for the first time since 2016 in the #27. That means that Ryan Truex, Brendan Gaughan, Parker Kligerman, and Joey Gase, must race their way into the Daytona 500 through the Duels.

The cars are all now impounded and will not hit the track for Thursday night’s Duels starting at 7:00pm ET and aired on FS1.

Below are the qualifying results and later we’ll post the Duel starting lineups when they’re available.
(i) – ineligible for Cup Points
* – unchartered

1224William ByronChevy46.319194.305
2188Alex BowmanChevy46.355194.154
3448Jimmie JohnsonChevy46.438193.807
439Chase ElliottChevy46.444193.782
598Daniel HemricChevy46.763192.460
6522Joey LoganoFord46.766192.448
7719Martin Truex Jr.Toyota46.789192.353
8814Clint BowyerFord46.804192.291
962Brad KeselowskiFord46.811192.263
10103Austin DillonChevy47.018191.416
111221Paul MenardFord47.094191.107
121111Denny HamlinToyota47.246190.492
1318Kyle BuschToyota47.080191.164
1420Erik JonesToyota47.089191.127
154Kevin HarvickFord47.131190.957
1631*Tyler Reddick (i)Chevy47.161190.836
1712Ryan BlaneyFord47.170190.799
1817Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Ford47.177190.771
1910Aric AlmirolaFord47.185190.739
2041Daniel SuarezFord47.195190.698
211Kurt BuschChevy47.222190.589
2237Chris BuescherChevy47.261190.432
2338David RaganFord47.264190.420
246Ryan NemanFord47.364190.018
2534Michael McDowellFord47.374189.978
2627*Casey MearsChevy47.406189.849
2771*Ryan Truex (i)Chevy47.434189.737
2847Ryan PreeceChevy47.441189.709
2940Jamie McMurrayChevy47.498189.482
3095Matt DiBenedettoToyota47.515189.414
3162*Brendan Gaughan (i)Chevy47.520189.394
3242Kyle LarsonChevy47.565189.215
3343Bubba WallaceChevy47.571189.191
3413Ty DillonChevy47.691188.715
3536Matt TifftFord47.703188.667
3696*Parker Kligerman (i)Toyota47.820188.206
3715Ross Chastain (i)Chevy47.898187.899
3800Landon Cassill (i)Chevy48.025187.402
3932Corey LaJoieFord48.427185.847
4052Cody WareChevy48.983183.737
4151BJ McLeod (i)Chevy49.266182.682
4266*Joey Gase (i)Toyota49.743180.930

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.