Alfredo leads Second Truck Practice at Chicagoland

Anthony Alfredo, the young rookie making just his 7th career start in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series, topped the practice charts following the second of three scheduled practices on Thursday. He was followed by defending winner Brett Moffitt and current championship point leader Grant Enfinger.

If you could win a practice, Kyle Busch Motorsports did that in the first practice of the day. The 2nd practice, however, wasn’t as spectacular. The fastest of the three KBM trucks was Todd Gilliland, who was 9th fastest, while teammate Harrison Burton fell down to 18th fastest, out of only 27 participating trucks.

However, the potential reason for that drop could be explained in a simple tweet from owner Kyle Busch.

It’s very possible, then, that KBM used the 2nd practice for race set-up practice while the other trucks in the field spent time on mock-qualifying runs.

Rounding out the Top-5 in practice was Sheldon Creed, who crashed out and finished 2nd in his two ARCA races at Chicago, and Dylan Lupton. Lupton is making his 3rd career Truck Series start this weekend and his first since 2016. This is also Lupton’s first NASCAR race since JGL Racing closed up shop in 2018 due to the owner’s health issues and a lack of sponsorship.

– DGR Crosley is, for once, outnumbering the Kyle Busch Motorsports’ Toyotas bringing 4 to Chicago compared to KBM’s 3.
– There are 2 past Chicagoland winners in the Truck Series field; Brett Moffitt and Johnny Sauter.
– A Ford Truck has never won at Chicagoland Speedway. ThorSport Racing looks to change that. All four of their drivers have had Top-5 runs at Chicago. Sauter has a win, but it came with GMS Racing in 2017.

115Anthony AlfredoToyota30.635176.269
224Brett MoffittChevy30.681176.005
398Grant EnfingerFord30.715175.810
42Sheldon CreedChevy30.720175.781
55Dylan LuptonToyota30.855175.012
688Matt CraftonFord30.856175.006
712Gus DeanChevy30.937174.548
852Stewart FriesenChevy31.088173.700
94Todd GillilandToyota31.112183.566
1022Austin Wayne SelfChevy31.171173.238
1154Natalie DeckerToyota31.184173.166
1245Ross ChastainChevy31.203173.060
1316Austin HillToyota31.208173.033
1417Tyler AnkrumToyota31.298172.535
1513Johnny SauterFord31.351172.243
1651Brandon JonesToyota31.394172.007
1799Ben RhodesFord31.414171.898
1818Harrison BurtonToyota31.563171.086
1902Tyler DippelChevy31.618170.789
203Jordan AndersonChevy31.860169.492
2120Spencer BoydChevy31.962168.951
2244Spencer DavidChevy32.080168.329
238Camden MurphyChevy32.171167.853
2434Jesse IwujiChevy33.413161.614
2532Mason MasseyChevy33.496161.213
260Joey GaseChevy34.649155.849
271BJ McLeodToyota81.82165.998

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.