Kyle Busch Motorsports Sweeps First Practice at Chicagoland

Kyle Busch Motorsports may be without their owner, Kyle Busch, due to the NASCAR policy limiting Cup driver participation in other series, but that’s not stopping them from showing strength. On Thursday’s first of three scheduled practices, the three KBM drivers swept the top three fastest spots.

Kyle Busch has won 5 of the 10 Truck races at Chicagoland Speedway, but he’ll have to rely on his team to keep up the success. Busch is only allowed to run five Truck Series races per year due to his participation in the Cup Series. He has ran all five of those allowed races already and won all five.

Otherwise, it has been a frustrating year for KBM, where Busch has been very open and critical about his drivers’ lack of success. Neither Todd Gilliland or Harrison Burton have been able to find victory lane. At Texas, Greg Biffle won when he came back after nearly 3 years outside of a race car, and that didn’t help the cause for Gilliland or Burton.

Scoring 2nd and 3rd in practice won’t get Burton and Gilliland out of their hot seats, but if they’re able to keep up the speed, it could maybe cool those seats. Gilliland ran the race at Chicagoland last year where he finished 16th, 2 laps down while Burton is making his first start at Chicago.

– Johnny Sauter returns after a one-race suspension and was the slowest of the 4 ThorSport Racing trucks.
– Dylan Lupton is running a 4th DGR Crosley truck, running the #5. Anthony Alfredo is in the #15, Tyler Ankrum in the #17, and Natalie Decker in the #54.
– Defending race winner Brett Moffitt was the fastest non-KBM truck.

151Brandon Jones (i)Toyota30.738175.678
218Harrison Burton #Toyota30.829175.160
34Todd GillilandToyota30.971174.357
424Brett MoffittChevy30.996174.216
515Anthony Alfredo #Toyota31.187173.149
602Tyler Dippel #Chevy31.237172.872
72Sheldon Creed #Chevy31.251172.794
852Stewart FriesenChevy31.260172.745
998Grant EnfingerFord31.302172.513
1088Matt CraftonFord31.310172.469
1116Austin HillToyota31.324172.392
1245Ross ChastainChevy31.352172.238
1399Ben RhodesFord31.396171.996
1417Tyler AnkrumToyota31.426171.832
1512Gus Dean #Chevy31.427171.827
1613Johnny SauterFord31.443171.739
173Jordan AndersonChevy31.572171.038
185Dylan LuptonToyota31.797169.827
1922Austin Wayne SelfChevy31.871169.433
2054Natalie Decker #Toyota31.969168.914
2144Spencer DavisChevy31.990168.803
2256Timmy Hill (i)Chevy32.029168.597
2333Josh Bilicki (i)Chevy32.283167.271
2420Spencer BoydChevy32.313167.121
2532Mason MasseyChevy33.499161.199
2634Jesse IwujiChevy33.670160.380

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.