Brad Keselowski’s practice ends early after incident in garage area.

Early during the 2nd Daytona 500 practice on Saturday, Brad Keselowski was exiting the garage area when he hit a fence pole and ripped up the ride sideskirt on his #2 Team Penske Ford. For the first time since being paired with Paul Wolfe in 2011, Keselowski has a new crew chief this year to help organize the repairs on the car. Jeremy Bullins moves over from the #12 team after Penske rotated their crew chief roster. A fan was able to capture the incident on what appears to be a cell phone video.

Keselowski has yet to win the Daytona 500 despite 6 career wins at Daytona/Talladega. The 2012 Cup Series champion has won at least 3 races in 7 of his 10 career full-time seasons, including the past 4, making him a regular threat to win each week. The Penske team will need to work to fix the extensive damage to prepare for qualifying on Sunday at 12:30p ET on FOX.

Bubba Wallace was fastest in the practice along with rookies Cole Custer and John Hunter Nemechek. They did draft each other, however, while the rest of the field ran single-car mock qualifying runs. Alex Bowman, who won the Daytona 500 Pole in 2018, was fastest among those single-car runs.

The 2 fastest non-chartered cars in Qualifying on Sunday will be locked into the Daytona 500. The fastest 2 in single-car runs in the practice session were Beard Motorsports’ #62 driven by Brendan Gaughan and Kaulig Racing’s #16 driven by the most recent Daytona winner Justin Haley.

143Bubba WallaceChevrolet45.878196.172
241Cole Custer #Ford45.893196.108
338John Hunter Nemechek #Ford45.909196.040
488Alex BowmanChevrolet46.133195.088
548Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet46.193194.835
69Chase ElliottChevrolet46.316194.317
724William BryonChevrolet46.332194.250
811Denny HamlinToyota46.356194.150
947Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Chevrolet46.362194.124
1014Clint BowyerFord46.431193.836
118Tyler Reddick #Chevrolet46.476193.648
124Kevin HarvickFord46.507193.519
1395Christopher Bell #Toyota46.508193.515
1418Kyle BuschToyota46.515193.486
1520Erik JonesToyota46.547193.353
1610Aric AlmirolaFord46.592193.166
1719Martin Truex Jr.Toyota46.646192.943
1821Matt DiBenedettoFord46.697192.732
191Kurt BuschChevrolet46.752192.505
2034Michael McDowellFord46.784192.373
216Ryan NewmanFord46.789192.353
2237Ryan PreeceChevrolet46.906191.873
2317Chris BuescherFord46.909191.861
2413Ty DillonChevrolet46.938191.742
2522Joey LoganoFord46.942191.726
2642Kyle LarsonChevrolet47.121190.998
27*62Brendan Gaughan (i)Chevrolet47.121190.998
28*16Justin Haley (i)Chevrolet47.142190.913
2936David RaganFord47.217190.609
30*27Reed SorensonChevrolet47.259190.440
3177Ross Chastain (i)Chevrolet47.299190.279
3212Ryan BlaneyFord47.305190.255
333Austin DillonChevrolet47.353190.062
34*66Timmy Hill (i)Ford47.653188.865
35*49Chad FinchumToyota47.673188.786
3632Corey LaJoieFord48.058187.274
37*96Daniel SuarezToyota48.319186.262
3800Quin Houff #Chevrolet48.836184.290
3952BJ McLeod (i)Ford48.985183.730
4051Joey Gase (i)Chevrolet49.107183.273
41*54JJ YeleyFord50.082179.705

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.