Ty Majeski leads ARCA Practice

Ty Majeski, making his 5th ARCA start in 2019 was fastest in the one and only practice session on Thursday. He knocked championship point leader and defending Chicagoland race winner Michael Self off the top of the scoring tower at the very end of practice with a 30.52 lap time, more than 2 mph faster than Self’s fastest lap.

Self enters Chicagoland as a favorite to repeat following his dominant 2018 victory at the 1.5-mile oval, where he beat out current Truck Series regulars Sheldon Creed and Todd Gilliland. His biggest threat for this year’s race is most likely Majeski, who was on his way to three consecutive races until he ran out of fuel on the last lap as Self got around him for his third victory this year.

Christian Eckes sits 4th in points and was third fastest in practice. His lone win this year came at Nashville, but his six top-5 finishes are second only to Self. The rest of the Top-5 are two drivers that are pulling double duty this weekend. Harrison Burton will drive the #20 for Venturini Motorsports in addition to his full-time role at Kyle Busch Motorsports in the Truck Series. Meanwhile, Riley Herbst will be running Saturday’s Xfinity Series race for Joe Gibbs Racing in the #18.

– Joe Graf Jr. had an incident on pit road that caused the team to roll out a backup car, according to ARCAracing.com.
– Austin Wayne Self also will pull double duty this weekend driving the #32 Win Tron Chevy Thursday, and then his #22 truck on Friday.
– Stefan Parsons is making his ARCA Menards Series debut.

122Ty MajeskiFord30.520176.933
225Michael SelfToyota30.938174.543
315Christian EckesToyota30.959174.424
420Harrison BurtonToyota31.131173.461
518Riley HerbstToyota31.132173.455
654Tanner GrayToyota31.257172.761
732Austin Wayne SelfChevy31.376172.106
823Bret HolmesChevy31.589170.946
927Travis BradenFord31.694170.379
1069Scott MeltonToyota32.493166.190
1128Stefan ParsonsChevy32.605165.619
1246Thad MoffittFord33.276162.279
1311Morgen BairdToyota34.401156.972
1406Tim RichmondToyota34.485156.590
157Eric CaudellToyota35.213153.352
1610Tommy Vigh Jr.Ford35.483152.186
1748Brad SmithChevy36.641147.376
180Con NicolopoulosChevy36.972146.056
191Jason MilesFord37.112145.505
2077Joe Graf Jr.Ford37.922142.398

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.