Michael Self Wins Pole for ARCA Daytona Race

Venturini Motorsports’ Michael Self, who finished 2nd in the ARCA Menards Series points in 2019, will start on the Pole for the Lucas Oil 200 on Saturday at 3:30p ET on FS1.

Self is a 7-time winner in ARCA, including the 2018 edition of the Daytona season opener for the series. He will be joined on the front row with Andy Seuss, a 2-time champion of the former Whelen Southern Modified Tour.

Hailie Deegan will start 7th in her stock car Daytona debut after a strong performance in opening practice. Two rows behind her will be her teammate Tanner Gray who has made a name for himself as the youngest NHRA champion after winning the Pro Stock title in 2018. Deegan will be running the full ARCA schedule while Gray will be racing full-time in the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series.

World of Outlaws star David Gravel will start 9th for his ARCA debut. On Friday night, the night before the ARCA race, Gravel finished 5th in the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series opener at nearby Volusia Speedway Park. It’s not often to see a driver pull a World of Outlaws/ARCA double-header but Gravel is doing just that. The 27-year old Connecticut native will also compete in 6 NASCAR Truck events for GMS Racing in 2020.

125Michael Self49.619
202Andy Seuss49.622
363Dave Mader49.628
412Jason White49.640
515Drew Dollar49.612
618Riley Herbst50.426
74Hailie Deegan50.272
822Connor Hall50.224
928David Gravel50.223
1030Dominique Van Wieringen50.309
1117Tanner Gray50.364
1277Jacob Heafner50.285
1320Ryan Repko50.064
1432Gus Dean50.071
1546Thad Moffitt50.076
1697Jason Kitzmiller50.091
1761JJ Pack50.134
1811Chuck Hiers50.140
1923Bret Holmes50.148
2052Natalie Decker50.149
218Sean Corr50.150
223Willie Mullins50.156
239Thomas Praytor50.578
2469Scott Melton51.499
2501John Ferrier51.404
2609Benny Chastain51.238
277Eric Caudell51.228
2806Tim Richmond51.808
2988Scott Reaves52.243
3048Brad Smith51.852
3110Ryan Huff52.086
3287Charles Buchanan52.748
330Con Nicolopoulos53.694


Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.