Stenhouse Jr. dethrones Hendrick Motorsports, continues Chevrolet’s Daytona 500 Pole streak

Heading into Daytona 500 Qualifying on Sunday, Hendrick Motorsports was looking for their sixth consecutive Daytona 500 Pole. After final qualifying practice on Saturday, all four HMS cars were fastest among mock qualifying runs, suggesting the reign would likely continue. Chevrolet had a streak of their own as they were looking for their eighth consecutive Pole in “The Great American Race”, as well as their 12th in 13 years.

Only one of those streaks remained alive after the last car made their qualifying attempt, and unfortunately for Hendrick Motorsports, they weren’t the ones celebrating. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., in his first attempt with his new team, JTG Daugherty Racing, won the Pole for the 62nd Annual Daytona 500. Alex Bowman, the 2018 Daytona 500 polesitter, is the only other driver who knows where he will start in the Daytona 500 on Sunday, February 16. His 2nd place qualifying run marks his third straight front row start for the 500.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (right) and Alex Bowman (left) will make up the 2020 Daytona 500 front row.

Stenhouse was the 18th out of 42 cars to make a qualifying attempt and at the time had a 0.7 second gap over the second fastest time. Each Hendrick car challenged the fastest time, but none would prevail as Bowman, Chase Elliott, Jimmie Johnson and last year’s polesitter William Byron put down the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 8th fastest times, respectively.

It is Ricky Stenhouse Jr.’s 3rd career Pole Award and first since the 2017 spring Talladega race. It is also JTG Daugherty Racing’s 3rd career Pole with both previous occurrences coming with AJ Allmendinger sweeping the road course poles in 2015.

Seven unchartered teams are attempting to race in the Daytona 500, but only four will be able to. The highest finishing “open” team in each Bluegreens Vacations Duel (Thursday, February 13, 7p ET, FS1) will qualify along with the two fastest “open” teams in qualifying.

Justin Haley and Kaulig Racing, both making their Daytona 500 debuts, are locked into the Daytona 500 by putting down the 31st fastest qualifying time, fastest among all unchartered teams. Haley is coincidentally the most recent Cup race winner at Daytona, winning the rain-shortened Coke Zero 400 last summer in one of the biggest upsets in NASCAR history. He will be running full-time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series with Kaulig Racing in 2020.

Qualifying 33rd and 2nd fastest among unchartered teams was the seasoned veteran Brendan Gaughan, who will be running his final Daytona 500 next week. Gaughan has ran the four Daytona/Talladega races in recent years in the Cup Series with Beard Oil Motorsports, and he will do the same in 2020 for one final time before retiring. Always high in spirits, Gaughan made news last fall with a wild ride at Talladega going upside down and flipping over, only to walk away smiling.

If one of those two happen to race their way in by being the highest finishing “open” car in their Duel race, then Reed Sorenson in the #27 Premium Motorsports entry will qualify for the 500 based on speed. If both race their way in, then Timmy Hill in the #66 MBM Motorsports Ford will be in the Daytona 500 on speed. Daniel Suarez, JJ Yeley, and Chad Finchum must race their way in through the Duels, unable to fall back on speed.

The cars are now impounded and teams cannot work n them until the Duels on Thursday night. Below are the qualifying results and Duel starting lineups as they become available.

Daytona 500 Qualifying Results

147Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Chevrolet46.253
288Alex BowmanChevrolet46.305
39Chase ElliottChevrolet46.319
448Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet46.419
511Denny HamlinToyota46.528
618Kyle BuschToyota46.662
710Aric AlmirolaFord46.732
824William ByronChevrolet46.767
995Christopher Bell #Toyota46.818
1020Erik JonesToyota46.859
1122Joey LoganoFord46.867
124Kevin HarvickFord46.869
1314Clint BowyerFord46.906
1441Cole Custer #Ford46.921
156Ryan NewmanFord46.950
1621Matt DiBenedettoFord46.952
1737Ryan PreeceChevrolet46.969
188Tyler Reddick #Chevrolet46.983
1917Chris BuescherFord46.984
2042Kyle LarsonChevrolet46.987
2119Martin Truex Jr.Toyota46.994
221Kurt BuschChevrolet47.052
232Brad KeselowskiFord47.054
2434Michael McDowellFord47.070
2538John Hunter Nemechek #Ford47.076
2636David RaganFord47.151
2712Ryan BlaneyFord47.205
2877Ross Chastain (i)Chevrolet47.262
293Austin DillonChevrolet47.273
3013Ty DillonChevrolet47.353
31*16Justin Haley (i)Chevrolet47.364
3243Bubba WallaceChevrolet47.491
33*62Brendan Gaughan (i)Chevrolet47.633
34*27Reed SorensonChevrolet48.037
35*66Timmy Hill (i)Ford48.225
36*96Daniel SuarezToyota48.523
3732Corey LaJoieFord48.605
3800Quin Houff #Chevrolet48.943
39*54JJ YeleyFord49.102
4015Brennan Poole #Chevrolet49.510
41*49Chad FinchumToyota49.515
4251Joey Gase (i)Chevrolet50.068
4352BJ McLeod (i)Ford0.000

Bluegreen Vacations Duel 1 Starting Lineup

147Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty RacingChevroletKroger
29Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevroletNAPA Auto Parts
311Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaFedEx Express
410Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas RacingFordSmithfield
595Christopher Bell #Leavine Family RacingToyotaProcore
622Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFordShell Pennzoil
714Clint BowyerStewart-Haas RacingFordRush/Mobil 1
86Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway RacingFordKoch Industries
937Ryan PreeceJTG Daugherty RacingChevroletCottonelle
1017Chris BuescherRoush Fenway RacingFordFastenal
1119Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs RacingToyotaBass Pro Shops
122Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFordDiscount Tire
1338John Hunter Nemechek #Front Row MotorsportsFordCitgard
1412Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFordMenards/Peak
153Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevroletBass Pro Shops/Tracker Offroad
16*16Justin Haley (i)Kaulig RacingChevroletFraternal Order of Eagles
1743Bubba WallaceRichard Petty MotorsportsChevroletUnited States Air Force
1827Reed SorensonPremium MotorsportsChevrolet
19*96Daniel SuarezGaunt Brothers RacingToyotaToyota Certified Used Vehicles
2000Quin Houff #StarCom RacingChevroletJacob Construction
21*49Chad FinchumMBM MotorsportsToyotaGarrison Homes
2251Joey Gase (i)Petty Ware RacingChevroletEFX Corp.

Bluegreen Vacations Duel 2 Starting Lineup

188Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevroletValvoline
248Jimmie JohnsonHendrick MotorsportsChevroletAlly
318Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaM&M's
424William ByronHendrick MotorsportsChevroletAxalta "Color of the Year"
520Erik JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaDEWALT
64Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RaacingFordBusch Light #PIT4BUSCH
741Cole Custer #Stewart-Haas RacingFordHaas Automation
821Matt DiBenedettoWood Brothers RacingFordMotorcraft/Quick Lane
98Tyler Reddick #Richard Childress RacingChevroletCaterpillar
1042Kyle LarsonChip Ganassi RacingChevroletCredit One Bank
111Kurt BuschChip Ganassi RacingChevroletMonster Energy
1234Michael McDowellFront Row MotorsportsFordLove's Travel Stops
1336David RaganRick Ware RacingFordSelect Blinds
1477Ross Chastain (i)Spire MotorsportsChevroletAdventHealth
1513Ty DillonGermain RacingChevroletGEICO
16*62Brendan Gaughan (i)Beard MotorsportsChevroletBeard Motorsports/South Point
17*66Timmy Hill (i)MBM Racing
1832Corey LaJoieGO FAS
19*54JJ YeleyRick Ware RacingFord
2015Brennan Poole #Premium MotorsportsChevroletSpartanGo
2152BJ McLeod (i)Rick Ware RacingFord

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.