Herbst wins Truck Series Pole, Nemecheks DNQ

The NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series has kicked off their season at Daytona since 2000, with plenty of memorable finishes and winners in its history. The 2020 edition of the NextEra Energy 250 is set to add to the legacy with a field full of competitive trucks and new and old faces.

Riley Herbst, making only his 8th start in the Truck Series and will be running full-time in the Xfinity Series, set the fastest time in qualifying ahead of 2018 series champion Brett Moffitt. Herbst’s teammate Christian Eckes was the fastest of seven rookies, qualifying 3rd, less than a hundredth of a second slower than the pole time.

The Top-27 fastest trucks were locked in while 28th-32nd were determined by 2019 owner points. With 39 trucks making a qualifying attempt, several drivers were going to be left disappointed and heading home. That list included some surprising names. Joe Nemechek and his son John Hunter Nemechek, who is a rookie in the NASCAR Cup Series, both failed to qualify. The father/son duo finished in the Top-5 at Daytona in 2017, and Joe repeated the accomplishment in 2018. Joe Nemechek made news last fall by breaking the record for most races started in the NASCAR Cup, Xfinity, and Truck Series combined. The 56-year-old told FOX Sports’ Jamie Little before making his qualifying attempt, “I have a lot of years left in me to race”.

Other drivers failing to qualify were Jennifer Jo Cobb, Clay Greenfield, Ray Ciccarelli, Todd Peck, and Norm Benning.

151Riley Herbst (i)Toyota49.544
223Brett MoffittChevrolet49.548
318Christian Eckes #Toyota49.551
440Ross Chastain (i)Chevrolet49.572
513Johnny SauterFord49.664
621Zane Smith #Chevrolet49.763
726Tyler AnkrumChevrolet49.873
84Raphael Lessard #Toyota49.915
97Korbin ForristerToyota50.057
1088Matt CraftonFord50.073
1198Grant EnfingerFord50.139
122Sheldon CreedChevrolet50.154
1399Ben RhodesFord50.167
1415Tanner Gray #Ford50.207
1516Austin HillToyota50.311
1619Derek Kraus #Toyota50.314
1745Ty Majeski #Chevrolet50.322
1802Tate Fogleman #Chevrolet50.392
1904Cory RoperFord50.452
2056Gus DeanChevrolet50.560
219Codie RohrbaughChevrolet50.657
2228Bryan DauzatChevrolet50.674
233Jordan AndersonChevrolet50.676
2422Austin Wayne SelfChevrolet50.704
2538Todd GillilandFord50.708
2697Jesse Little (i)Chevrolet50.736
2730Brennan Poole (i)Toyota50.876
2852Stewart FriesenToyota50.954
2920Spencer BoydChevrolet50.973
3044Natalie DeckerChevrolet51.033
3133Jason WhiteChevrolet51.799
3200Angela RuchChevrolet52.140
3387Joe NemechekFord50.960
3410Jennifer Jo CobbChevrolet51.015
358John Hunter Nemechek (i)Ford51.063
3668Clay GreenfieldToyota51.082
3749Ray CiccarelliChevrolet51.477
3896Todd PeckChevrolet51.704
396Norm BenningChevrolet52.227

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.