Kaulig Racing experiences disaster in Xfinity Qualifying, Chastain still set to race after deal is made

The last time the NASCAR Xfinity Series came to Daytona, Kaulig Racing finished 1-2-3 in a thriller of a finish that saw Ross Chastain lead his teammates Justin Haley and AJ Allmendinger to victory. Allmendinger wasn’t able to keep his 3rd place finish after post-race inspection.

This year, Kaulig was hoping to repeat their Daytona success with three cars and bringing back all three drivers. However, they were shocked to see the speed charts after Allmendinger and Chastain made their attempts. The #16 and #10 teams posted the slowest lap times due to a mechanical failure in the cars and both teams failed to qualify.

The top-31 fastest cars in qualifying are locked into the race in the Xfinity Series. The remaining five positions are given provisionals based on 2019 owner points. Though the #10 was higher than the #13 of MBM Motorsports in points, the #13 attempted every race last season and therefore gets priority in the rulebook.

When Chastain pulled into the garage, a fire broke out under the hood of his race car. A team spokesperson told Dustin Albino of Frontstretch.com that the brakes on both the #10 and #16 were locked up during their qualifying runs, causing them to be several seconds off the pace. The other Kaulig Racing car of Justin Haley did not experience the same issue and qualified third.

RSS Racing and Kaulig Racing made a deal to let Ross Chastain race the #38 car instead of Jeff Green. Chastain is racing for the Xfinity Series championship in a full-time effort with Kaulig Racing. He will have to start at the rear of the field due to the driver change.

Other teams failing to qualify were the #26 of Colin Garrett and the #44 of Tommy Joe Martins.

On the Pole for the race is Myatt Snider, making his first ever start in the Xfinity Series. He’s racing part-time for Richard Childress Racing in 2020.

NASCAR Racing Experience 300 Qualifying Results:

121Myatt SniderChevrolet47.763
21Michael AnnettChevrolet47.817
311Justin HaleyChevrolet47.849
48Jeb BurtonChevrolet47.917
508Joe Graf Jr.Chevrolet47.926
619Brandon JonesToyota47.936
718Riley HerbstToyota47.981
820Harrison BurtonToyota47.983
939Ryan SiegChevrolet48.021
1098Chase BriscoeFord48.032
1168Brandon BrownChevrolet48.070
129Noah GragsonChevrolet48.079
137Justin AllgaierChevrolet48.207
1490Caesar BacarellaChevrolet48.242
1522Austin CindricFord48.437
1607Ray Black Jr.Chevrolet48.438
1792Josh WilliamsChevrolet48.446
184Jesse LittleChevrolet48.526
1936Alex LabbeChevrolet48.589
2015Robby LyonsChevrolet48.598
2193CJ McLaughlinChevrolet48.599
220BJ McLeodChevrolet48.691
2338Jeff GreenChevrolet48.705
2402Brett MoffittChevrolet48.715
2578Vinnie MillerToyota48.827
2666Timmy HillFord48.835
2725Chris CockrumChevrolet48.837
2861Austin HillToyota48.887
2951Jeremy ClementsChevrolet48.895
305Matt MillsToyota48.996
316David StarrChevrolet49.017
3299Josh BilickiToyota49.082
3313Chad FinchumToyota49.116
3452JJ YeleyChevrolet49.202
3574Mike HarmonChevrolet49.377
3647Joe NemechekChevrolet49.184
3726Colin GarrettToyota49.027
3844Tommy Joe MartinsChevrolet49.093
3910Ross ChastainChevrolet50.602
4016AJ AllmendingerChevrolet51.113

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.