Rain postpones Xfinity re-opener at Darlington

The NASCAR Xfinity Series will have to wait longer to take the green flag for the first time in 2020 since suspending the season due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. The Xfinity drivers and teams have waited to resume their season since March 7 at Phoenix Raceway where Brandon Jones was victorious. Persistent rain in the area originally prompted NASCAR to move the start of the race two hours earlier but “Mother Nature” had other plans and washed out the Toyota 200 completely, postponing it to Thursday, May 21st at 12:00p ET on FS1.

Rain continues to be in the forecast in the Darlington, SC area through both Wednesday, when the Cup Series intends to run the Toyota 500, and on Thursday. According to the National Weather Service, as of Tuesday night, the chances of rain on Wednesday and Thursday are both 80%. If the Cup Series race is impacted by the weather, it would also be moved to Thursday later in the night. Contingency plans if rain continues to prevent racing on Thursday are as of yet still unknown.

When the Xfinity Series does take the green flag for the Toyota 200, Noah Gragson will lead the field to the start/finish line alongside JR Motorsports teammate Michael Annett. Below is the full starting lineup for the event.

19Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevroletBass Pro Shops/BRCC
21Michael AnnettJR MotorsportsChevroletPilot Flying J
311Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevroletLeafFilter Gutter Protection
439Ryan SiegRSS RacingChevrolet
518Riley Herbst #Joe Gibbs RacingToyotaMonster Energy
668Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevroletBrandonbilt Motorsports
722Austin CindricTeam PenskeFordMoneyLion
819Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyotaToyota Service Centers
910Ross ChastainKaulig RacingChevroletNutrien Ag Solutions
107Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevroletPrecision Build
1198Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas RacingFordHighPoint.com
1220Harrison Burton #Joe Gibbs RacingToyotaDex Imaging
136BJ McLeodJD MotorsportsChevroletTeamJDMotorsports.com
1493Myatt SniderRSS RacingChevrolet
1592Josh WilliamsDGM RacingChevroletChasing Freedom
1690Alex LabbeDGM RacingChevroletLarue Snowblowers/rousseau
1721Anthony AlfredoRichard Childress RacingChevroletiRacing
184Jesse Little #JD MotorsportsChevroletTeamJDMotorsports.com
1907Ray Black IISS Green Light RacingChevroletCDA Tech
2078Vinnie MillerBJ McLeod MotorsportsChevroletKoolbox
2152Kody Vanderwal #Means MotorsportsChevrolet
2202Brett Moffitt (i)Our MotorsportsChevroletFR8Auctions
238Daniel HemricJR MotorsportsChevroletPoppy Bank
2413Chad FinchumMBM MotorsportsToyotaGREAT SOUTHERN HOMES
2544Tommy Joe MartinsMartins MotorsportsChevroletSkyview Partners
2654Kyle Busch (i)Joe Gibbs RacingToyotaThank You Heroes/M&M's
275Matt MillsBJ McLeod MotorsportsChevroletJ F Electric
2861Timmy Hill (i)Hattori Racing EnterprisesToyotaRoofClaim.com
2947Joe Nemechek (i)Mike Harmon RacingChevroletMutt & Jeff Porkskins
3051Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements racingChevroletRepairables.com
3115Colby HowardJD MotorsportsChevroletProject Hope Foundation
3236Ronnie Bassett Jr.DGM RacingChevroletBassett Gutters & More
3399Mason MasseyBJ McLeod MotorsportsChevroletGerber Collision & Glass
340Jeffrey EarnhardtJD MotorsportsChevroletKids First Community
3574Bayley Currey (i)Mike Harmon RacingChevroletSave22
3608Joe Graf Jr. #SS Green Light RacingChevroletCORE Development Group
3766Stephen LeichtMBM MotorsportsToyotaCrashClaimsR.us
3889Landon CassillShepherd Racing VenturesChevroletVisone RV
3926Colin GarrettSam Hunt RacingToyotaRosie Network

Author: Tom Bailey

Tom Bailey (@TomBaileyScoop) grew up in the backyard of Chicagoland Speedway, making a passion for all motorsports inevitable. Tom is entering his first full year of racing coverage in 2020 as the owner and founder of InfieldScoop.com. You can contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.